A Fiji wedding reception is almost always catered by the venue, and the venues that publish prices put a package for 30 guests between roughly FJ$8,400 and FJ$17,100, with each guest beyond the package's base number costing FJ$132 to FJ$347. Almost nobody publishes a standalone per-head catering rate, which is why this article uses the marginal guest cost instead.

Here is what is actually published, by whom, and what changed in September 2026.

What catering styles can a Fiji wedding have?

Six, and most resorts will do three or four of them.

  • Lovo or magiti buffet. Food cooked in a Fijian earth oven and served on banana leaves. The most distinctive option, and at several resorts it is the included choice rather than an upgrade. We have covered it in detail in a lovo feast at your wedding.
  • Western or seafood buffet. The default for 30-plus guests at most large resorts. Plantation Island offers a "Waitui BBQ Grill" as its alternative to the magiti; Outrigger prices a South Pacific BBQ Buffet and an Ocean Feast Buffet as upgrades.
  • Plated, or alternate drop. Two dishes alternated around the table. Outrigger's Intimate package (10 to 29 guests) is built around an alternate-drop menu rather than a buffet, which is the usual shape at smaller numbers.
  • Stations. Marriott's Tropical Fijian and Grand Fijian packages at Momi Bay name seafood buffets and live food stations respectively.
  • Canapés and cocktail. Common as a pre-dinner hour rather than a whole reception, and generally bundled into the beverage package rather than priced separately.
  • Private venue dining. A separate location within the resort for your group alone. Outrigger publishes a private Sunset Lawn dinner upgrade at FJ$650.

One honest note: no Fiji resort we checked publishes a standalone per-head menu price. Catering is sold inside a package. That is why the extra-guest rate below is the most useful number on this page.

What do the venues that publish prices actually charge?

Every figure below is taken from the venue's own website. Currencies are as published. Packages change and most carry a validity date, so treat these as a benchmark, not a quote.

VenuePackagePriceGuests coveredCatering included
Plantation Island ResortLailai elopement ceremonyFJ$1,577CoupleCeremony only
Tropica Island ResortEscape to ParadiseFJ$2,999CoupleNot stated
Malamala Beach ClubElopement / renewalFrom FJ$2,999Couple + up to 18Package-based
Mana Island Resort & SpaChapel WeddingFJ$3,490CoupleNone — ceremony only
Castaway Island, FijiWedding CeremonyFJ$5,062.50CoupleCeremony only
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi BayElopementFJ$6,999CoupleFive-course dinner for two
Outrigger Fiji Beach ResortIntimate WeddingFJ$7,200Min 10, max 29Alternate-drop menu + 2hr beverages
Plantation Island ResortVakamauFJ$8,393Up to 20BBQ grill or magiti buffet
Fiji Hideaway Resort & SpaParadise WeddingFJ$8,870Based on 30, max 80Fijian lovo buffet dinner
Outrigger Fiji Beach ResortDream WeddingFJ$11,500Min 30, max 100Lovo buffet + 3hr beverages + 2-tier cake
Castaway Island, FijiIntimate Fiji Beach WeddingFJ$11,615.6310 guestsBanquet buffet + 3hr beverages
Plantation Island ResortDomoniFJ$12,737Up to 30BBQ grill or magiti buffet
Castaway Island, FijiUltimate WeddingFJ$15,440.6320 guestsIncluded
Plantation Island ResortDomoni UpgradeFJ$17,146Up to 30Carvery, wedding station or seafood BBQ
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi BayDreamy FijianFJ$19,999Not statedFamily-style menu + 3hr beverages
Malamala Beach ClubWedding PackageFrom FJ$20,999Couple + up to 40Package-based
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi BayTropical FijianFJ$29,999Not statedSeafood buffet + 3hr beverages
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi BayGrand FijianFJ$50,999Not statedLive food station + 4hr beverages
Malamala Beach ClubIsland CharterFrom FJ$51,599Up to 200Plus FJ$12 landing fee per person

A number of the best-known wedding resorts — Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Sheraton Fiji, Hilton Fiji, Warwick Fiji, The Naviti, Nanuku, InterContinental Fiji, Likuliku, Musket Cove — name their packages publicly but quote by proposal only. That is not a criticism; it is simply a different sales model, and it means you cannot comparison-shop without enquiring.

What does one more guest actually cost?

This is the number to build a budget on, because it is the only published figure that behaves like a per-head catering rate.

Conversions at mid-market rates taken 16 September 2026: FJ$1 ≈ NZ$0.78 ≈ A$0.64. Re-check before you commit anything.

Venue and packagePer extra adult≈ NZD≈ AUD
Plantation Island — VakamauFJ$132NZ$103A$84
Fiji Hideaway — Paradise (net)FJ$150NZ$117A$96
Outrigger — Intimate (above 10)FJ$170NZ$133A$109
Outrigger — Dream (above 30)FJ$180NZ$140A$115
Malamala — elopement extensionFJ$225NZ$176A$144
Plantation Island — DomoniFJ$247NZ$193A$158
Plantation Island — Domoni UpgradeFJ$347NZ$271A$222

Two patterns fall out of that. The marginal guest is cheaper in the entry package than the premium one — Plantation's per-head rate more than doubles between Vakamau and the Domoni Upgrade, because you are buying a better menu for everybody, not just the extra person. And children are usually charged less: Outrigger states kids at 50% of the buffet cost.

What changed in September 2026?

Two things, and they are the reason a 2025 quote is not a 2026 quote.

Fiji's VAT fell to 12.5% on 1 August 2025, down from 15%, per the Fiji Revenue and Customs Service.

A new 5% Tourism Services Tax took effect on 1 September 2026. It applies to tourism operators above a FJ$2 million annual turnover threshold and sits on top of VAT, so qualifying tourism transactions now carry a combined 17.5% ad valorem load. Reporting on the 2026–2027 budget package describes it as a temporary measure running to 31 August 2027. The Ministry of Finance confirmed a transition rule: bookings made before 1 September 2026 are not subject to it, even where the service is delivered afterwards.

You can see the change working through venue pages already. Mana Island's 2026 wedding document states rates "including 12.5% Value Added Tax". Toberua Island Resort states its prices "include 17.5% Government taxes" — VAT plus the new levy. And Outrigger's Intimate package page still says "inclusive of 15% taxes", which is a rate that no longer exists; treat it as a stale page rather than a current rate and ask for the number in writing.

Ask every venue the same question: is this price inclusive or exclusive of VAT and the Tourism Services Tax? Practice is genuinely mixed. Outrigger, Mana and Toberua state tax-inclusive. Matangi Private Island Resort quotes "+ tax per couple", explicitly excluding Fiji government tax. Plantation Island, Castaway, Marriott Momi Bay, Tropica, Malamala and Daku are silent on their pages.

One more gap worth naming: no Fiji venue we checked publishes a separate service charge percentage. If a quote adds one, it was not disclosed to you in advance.

Can you bring in your own caterer?

Probably not, and more importantly, no Fiji venue we checked publishes a policy on it either way. We are not going to state a norm we cannot evidence.

What venues do publish are constraints that amount to the same thing:

  • Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa: "All guests must be staying at the Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa for this offer to be valid."
  • Leleuvia Island Resort: a midweek low-season island booking requires a minimum of 50 overnight guests and a two-night minimum, with a maximum of 150 guests.
  • Toberua Island Resort: its ten-guest package requires all ten adults to stay a minimum of five nights.
  • Malamala Beach Club: a minimum food and beverage spend of FJ$30,000 for up to eight hours, plus a FJ$10,000 exclusive-use charter fee for groups under 150.

The practical position: on an island resort, the venue is the caterer. On the mainland — Nadi, Denarau, the Coral Coast, Pacific Harbour and Suva — independent caterers exist and are listed in the catering directory, but whether a resort will let one through the gate is a question to ask before you fall in love with a venue.

What is usually not in the package?

Check each of these individually, because a package price with four exclusions is not cheaper than one with none:

  • Beverages beyond the stated hours (most packages cap at two to four hours)
  • Children's meals and supplier meals — photographer, celebrant, band
  • Cake beyond the tier count stated
  • Chair covers, linen upgrades, styling and floral beyond the basic set
  • Private venue hire, if you want a space to yourselves
  • Entertainment and sound
  • Any surcharge for a Sunday or public holiday
  • VAT and the Tourism Services Tax, where the page is silent

How to compare two quotes properly

Reduce both to the same three numbers: total for the couple, cost per additional adult, and the hours of beverage included. Everything else is decoration in the literal sense. Then ask each venue in writing what the price would be for your actual headcount rather than the package's base number, with tax stated, and put those two figures side by side.

Next step

Decide your final headcount before you shortlist, because the package tiers step at 10, 20, 30 and 100 guests and crossing a boundary changes the base price more than it changes the food. Then read the cluster hub, Fiji wedding food and drink, beverage packages at Fiji weddings, decoded for the bar, and Fiji wedding cost breakdown: every line item for everything else on the invoice.

Prices are as published by each venue at the time of writing and change without notice. Tax positions are guideline only — confirm current rates with the Fiji Revenue and Customs Service and get the tax treatment stated in your contract. Last reviewed 16 September 2026.