Between two guests and 100, the cost per head of a Fiji wedding falls by around 85 per cent — but it does not fall smoothly. Published resort rates move in steps, and two of those steps change the shape of the budget: the point where "guests included" ends and per-head charging begins, and the point where your package hits its published maximum.

Everything below is drawn from resorts' own published wedding pages, fetched on 24 September 2026. All prices are in Fijian dollars. This is an illustration of how published rates behave, not a quote.

Why does the cost curve step instead of slope?

A Fiji wedding package is not priced per person. It is priced as a block that includes a fixed number of guests, adds a per-head rate above that number, then stops dead at a published ceiling.

Your total therefore behaves three ways as the list grows: flat, then linear, then a jump. The flat stretch is the one couples misread — if a package includes 30 guests, guests 11 through 30 cost nothing at the margin. The jump is the one that breaks the spreadsheet.

What do Fiji resorts actually publish?

Only a minority publish a full ladder — base price, guests covered, per-extra-guest rate and a maximum. These do. Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island, Musket Cove Island Resort & Marina, Likuliku Lagoon Resort and Warwick Fiji all publish wedding pages with no rates on them at all, so none of them can be modelled here.

ResortPackageBase (FJD)Guests coveredEach extra adultMin / maxTax, as printedValid until
OUTRIGGER Fiji Beach ResortIntimate7,2001017010 / 29"inclusive of 15% taxes, subject to change"31 Mar 2027
OUTRIGGER Fiji Beach ResortDream11,5003018030 / 100"inclusive of all current taxes"31 Mar 2027
Plantation Island ResortVakamau8,393up to 20132not statednot stated31 Mar 2027 rate band
Plantation Island ResortDomoni12,737up to 30247not statednot stated31 Mar 2027 rate band
Fiji Hideaway Resort & SpaParadise Wedding8,87030150 (net)— / 80"net"not stated
InterContinental FijiYalayala (low season)27,390up to 50422 adult, 251 child— / 50 includednot stated31 Mar 2027 travel
Mana Island Resort & SpaChapel Wedding3,490not statednot publishedbanquets 5 to 150"including 12.5% Value Added Tax"Mar 2027

Two things stand out. The per-extra-guest rate is remarkably narrow — FJD 132 to FJD 422 across every Fiji resort that publishes one. And the first guests are the expensive ones: at OUTRIGGER the first ten cost FJD 720 each, the eleventh FJD 170.

Threshold one: where "included" ends and per-head begins

This is the first real step change, and it sits at a different number at every property: 10 at OUTRIGGER, 20 at Plantation Island, 30 at Fiji Hideaway, 50 at InterContinental Fiji.

Below that number you are paying a floor. Eight guests and ten guests cost exactly the same at OUTRIGGER — FJD 7,200 either way. Above it, every head carries a price and the total becomes a straight line.

The practical consequence: if your list is within three or four people of a package minimum, invite them. They are free. A list of 21 at Plantation Island Resort costs FJD 8,525 against FJD 8,393 for 20, so the twenty-first guest is the only one you actually pay for.

An elopement is not the bottom of this curve at all. It is a different product. OUTRIGGER's chapel ceremony is FJD 4,400, Plantation's Lailai ceremony FJD 1,577, Mana's Basic Cherished wedding FJD 1,500, Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay's elopement package FJD 6,999. None of them scale — you switch products rather than add guests. Our format comparison of elopements, micro-weddings and full weddings covers what each buys.

Threshold two: the wall where your package runs out

This is the step that costs real money, and OUTRIGGER Fiji Beach Resort publishes it plainly enough to prove.

The Intimate package takes a maximum of 29 guests. The Dream package requires a minimum of 30. There is nothing in between. Here is the full modelled ladder, built only from those two published packages so you can check the arithmetic yourself.

GuestsPublished package usedArithmeticTotal (FJD)Per head (FJD)
2Bure ni Loloma chapel ceremony4,4004,4002,200
10Intimate (minimum)7,2007,200720
20Intimate7,200 + (10 x 170)8,900445
29Intimate (maximum)7,200 + (19 x 170)10,430360
30Dream (minimum)11,50011,500383
50Dream11,500 + (20 x 180)15,100302
80Dream11,500 + (50 x 180)20,500256
100Dream (maximum)11,500 + (70 x 180)24,100241
101none published———

Read the two bolded rows together. The thirtieth guest costs FJD 1,070 — six and a quarter times the published per-guest rate of FJD 170. And the cost per head goes up, from FJD 360 to FJD 383, the only time it rises anywhere on the curve.

Then the ladder ends. Above 100 guests OUTRIGGER publishes nothing. Fiji Hideaway's ceiling is 80. Mana Island Resort & Spa will build a banquet for 5 to 150 but publishes no per-head package rate at all. Past the ceiling the numbers stop being comparable and start being negotiated — the territory of the line-item cost breakdown.

Does the venue ceiling bite before the package does?

Sometimes, yes — and at small island resorts it bites much earlier.

Plantation Island Resort publishes capacities for every reception setting: Lomai Beach 2 to 30, Domoni Beach a maximum of 30, Tavola Arrivals Bure 20 to 60, Tavola Tree 20 to 70, Marau Island 20 to 120. Hire is included with the wedding packages but FJD 1,000 for Marau Island and the Arrivals Bure otherwise. So your guest list quietly reassigns your venue at 31, at 61 and at 71.

Mana Island Resort & Spa charges a private venue setup fee "from F$500" and FJD 2,500, taxes included, as a room hire fee for exclusive use of one of its restaurants — a flat cost that appears the moment your group outgrows a shared dining room.

The hardest version is Lomani Island Resort & Spa, which states it "is best suited to elopements and small weddings of up to ten adults" and that "larger weddings of up to 70 guests are possible only when the entire resort is booked exclusively". Guest eleven there does not cost a per-head rate. It costs a whole-resort buyout. Tropica Island Resort draws a similar line at 60 on a full resort charter.

Larger mainland hotels push the ceiling out instead: Warwick Fiji Resort & Spa publishes banquet capacities of 30 in the Vusu Boardroom, 200 in the Coral Coast Conference Centre and 400 in Talanoa Hall.

Does chartering a boat ever beat paying per person?

We tested this, and on published rates the answer is no.

Plantation Island Resort publishes a Malolo Cat return fare of FJD 242 per adult and FJD 121 per child under 12, valid 1 April 2026 to 31 March 2027. Malolo Island Resort publishes FJD 304 per adult return on the South Sea Cruises catamaran plus a FJD 10 per person fuel surcharge each way — an effective FJD 324 — and a SeaFiji private charter at FJD 2,438 return for up to four people.

That charter works out at FJD 609.50 a head. It would need seven to eight passengers to match the catamaran fare, and it caps at four. The charter is a convenience purchase, not a volume saving.

Nor could we find any Fiji resort transfer schedule publishing a group discount or a whole-vessel rate that falls as numbers rise. Transfers are the one part of an island wedding budget that is perfectly linear. At Plantation's FJD 242, a 100-guest wedding carries FJD 24,200 in boat fares alone — comparable to the entire wedding package.

GuestsMalolo Cat adult returnTransfer total (FJD)
2242 each484
20242 each4,840
50242 each12,100
100242 each24,200

Has anyone repriced for Fiji's new tax?

Mostly not, and it matters when you compare quotes.

Fiji's VAT rate fell from 15 per cent to 12.5 per cent on 1 August 2025, and a 5 per cent Tourism Services Tax commenced on 1 September 2026 for businesses above a FJ$2 million turnover threshold. Published wedding pages have not caught up: OUTRIGGER's Intimate package still reads "inclusive of 15% taxes", while Mana's 2026 brochure correctly states 12.5 per cent VAT.

Ask every resort in writing whether the quoted figure carries VAT at 12.5 per cent and the new Tourism Services Tax. On a FJD 24,100 package the gap is not trivial. This is a guideline only — confirm current rates with the Fiji Revenue & Customs Service.

Which guest counts are actually cheapest?

The arithmetic gives a blunt answer: the best numbers sit immediately below a threshold, and the worst sit immediately above one.

  • Choose 2 if you want the lowest total. Ceremony-only products start at FJD 1,500 to 1,577 and are a different purchase entirely.
  • Choose 10, 20, 29 or 30 if you want the lowest total for a real celebration. At OUTRIGGER, 29 guests is the single best value point on the entire published curve.
  • Avoid 30 to 33, 61 to 65 and 81 to 85. These are the counts that have just triggered a step and are paying for capacity they are not using. If you are at 31, either cut two or add fifteen.
  • Choose 80 to 100 if you already have a big list. Per head, 100 guests at OUTRIGGER costs FJD 241 against FJD 720 at ten — but the total is more than three times higher.
  • Check the property ceiling before the price. A resort that caps at 60 or 70 without a buyout is not a cheaper option for 80 guests. It is not an option.

The step you cannot model is the one where a small resort cannot hold your group at all and you split across two properties. At that point the wedding stops being a package and becomes logistics.

What to do next

Ask every shortlisted resort four questions in writing: what the base includes, what the per-extra-guest rate is, what the published maximum is, and which reception venue your guest count puts you in. Those four answers let you rebuild the table above for any property.

Then work your list against our Fiji wedding cost hub, read the nine hidden costs that sit outside every package, and if you are hovering near 30, our guide to micro-weddings of 10 to 30 guests covers the band where these thresholds bite hardest. Browse the venue directory for the properties whose ceilings match your list.