Nine Fiji resorts publish enough to show they have an island to themselves. Several more market themselves as private islands while quietly sharing one with two or three competitors. And about ten publish so little that nobody can tell either way. "Private island" is a marketing phrase in Fiji before it is a fact, so this is the version with the evidence attached.
Everything below comes from each resort's own website. Where a resort does not say it is the island's only operator, we do not say it for them.
Which Fiji resorts genuinely have their island to themselves?
| Resort | Island evidence published | Rooms | Region |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vomo Island Fiji | "there is only one resort on our expansive 255 acres of island" | 34 villas, 6 residences | Mamanucas |
| Yasawa Island Resort | "the only accommodation on the island" for three decades | 18 bures | Yasawas |
| Royal Davui Island Resort | "sits on its own island... no day visitors and no shared resort infrastructure" | 16 villas, 32 guests | Outer Islands |
| Wadigi Island | "The Whole Island Is Yours... no other guests, visitors or day trippers" | 3 suites | Mamanucas |
| Matangi Private Island Resort | "occupies a secluded 240-acre privately owned island" | 13 to 20 (see below) | Taveuni area |
| Toberua Island Resort | "five sandy acres"; "Our entire island is available for hire" | 16 bures, 1 villa | Outer Islands |
| Matamanoa Island Resort | "One Island – One Resort", island approx. 23 acres | 47 rooms | Mamanucas |
| Turtle Island Fiji | 14 villas, 12 private beaches, entire-island rental offered | 14 villas | Yasawas |
| Dolphin Island Fiji | 14-acre retreat let on an exclusive-use basis, max 8 guests | not published | Rakiraki |
A note on two of those. Matamanoa's claim is a slogan — "One Island – One Resort" — rather than an explicit statement that no other operator exists, so treat it as resort-asserted. Turtle Island never says in terms that no other resort is present, but it sells the whole island, which amounts to the same thing for a guest. Matangi's own site is internally inconsistent on size: its metadata says "20 boutique designer resort rooms" while its accommodation page itemises only 13 units.
Vomo also contradicts itself on acreage: 255 acres on its homepage and FAQs, "87 hectares (or 225 acres)" on its island page. Those are three different numbers, and 87 hectares is not 225 acres. Do not quote a Vomo acreage without checking.
Which "private island" resorts actually share their island?
This is the useful part, because several of these are excellent resorts that are simply not alone on their island.
Malolo Island carries four separate resorts: Likuliku Lagoon Resort, Six Senses Fiji, Tropica Island Resort and Malolo Island Resort. Each names Malolo on its own site. Likuliku's over-water bures are genuinely the only ones of their kind in Fiji, and Six Senses calls Malolo "the largest of the Mamanuca Islands" — but none of the four has the island to itself.
Malolo Lailai carries Musket Cove Island Resort & Marina and Plantation Island Resort. Musket Cove names "the bay of Malolo Lailai" on its own site; Plantation Island's official site never names its island at all.
Tokoriki Island carries Tokoriki Island Resort and Marriott's Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island. Marriott publishes the address. Tokoriki Island Resort never claims sole occupancy.
Beqa Island carries Kulu Bay Resort and Lalati Resort & Spa, on a large inhabited island with villages.
Mana Island holds Mana Island Resort & Spa, which describes "the largest resort landmass in Fiji" — phrasing that implies it does not hold the whole island — and third parties place Tadrai Island Resort there too, though Tadrai's own site names no island.
Malamala Beach Club deserves a separate mention: it markets "your own private island" for exclusive events, but it is a day club with no accommodation, and it does not state that it occupies all of Malamala.
Which resorts cannot be classified either way?
Ten properties publish too little to decide. That is not an accusation — it is a disclosure gap, and it is worth knowing before you pay for exclusivity.
- Kokomo Private Island Fiji publishes 140 acres on Yaukuve Island, Kadavu, and 26 keys, but never states it is the island's sole occupant.
- Laucala publishes "a private island in Vanua Levu, Fiji" and 25 villas. We could not verify its association with COMO Hotels from COMO's own site, where no Fiji property is listed, so we have not described it as a COMO property here.
- Nukubati Private Island carries "private island" in its name and publishes neither island size, bure count nor occupancy.
- Navini Island Resort publishes 11 bures, an average of 20 guests and a no-day-tripper policy, but no island size or occupancy statement.
- Tavarua Island Resort publishes almost nothing factual at all — no island size, no sole-occupancy claim, not even a total bure count.
- Castaway Island, Fiji publishes "174-acre private Castaway Island" on Qalito Island with 65 bures, but does not state it is the only resort there.
- Leleuvia Island Resort, Serenity Island Resort, Beachcomber Island Resort and the Wakaya property all publish too little to place.
Serenity is the clearest example of why this matters. Its island buy-out page simultaneously says "book all 33 bures" for "groups of up to 70 people" and "lodging for groups of up to 46 people" with 23 units. Same page, two sets of numbers.
How do you get to a private island in Fiji?
Access is the real cost and the real constraint. Published figures:
| Resort | Published access | Journey time |
|---|---|---|
| Wadigi Island | Helicopter from Nadi | ~10 min |
| Vomo Island Fiji | Helicopter or speedboat | 15 min / 40 min |
| Matamanoa Island Resort | Catamaran from Port Denarau, FJ$194 per adult each way | 1 hr 15 min |
| Turtle Island Fiji | Chartered aircraft from Nadi, 23 kg baggage limit | ~30 min |
| Yasawa Island Resort | Charter flight to the resort's own airstrip, departs Nadi 2:00pm | ~30 min |
| Royal Davui | Flight plus speedboat from Pacific Harbour, FJ$550 per person one way | ~30 + 35 min |
| Royal Davui | Helicopter, from FJ$1,780 per person one way | ~35 min |
| Toberua Island Resort | Drive from Suva airport plus boat | 20 + 10 min |
| Matangi Private Island | Flight to Matei, Taveuni, plus water taxi | ~90 min + 20 min |
| Kokomo Private Island | Shared seaplane or helicopter, USD 725 per adult one way | 45 – 60 min |
Note that Kokomo prices in US dollars and excludes government taxes, and that Turtle Island states plainly that airfares and island transfers are not included in its rate. Several resorts apply fuel surcharges on marine transfers separately. The full fare picture is in how long it really takes to get between Fiji's islands.
What does buying the whole island cost?
Six properties publish a rate. The rest offer exclusivity on enquiry.
| Resort | Published buyout rate | Minimum stay | Guest cap |
|---|---|---|---|
| Wadigi Island | USD 2,756 per night, first 2 guests | 3 nights | 3 suites |
| Toberua Island Resort | from NZ$19,800 per night | not published | 36 adults |
| Yasawa Island Resort | from FJD 30,000 per night | 3 nights | 38 guests |
| Kokomo Private Island | USD 36,000 per night | 12 nights | 12 guests |
| Royal Davui | not published | not published | 32 guests |
| Turtle Island Fiji | not published | 1 week | 14 couples |
| Vomo Island Fiji | not published | not published | "100 Guests +" |
| Nukubati | not published | not published | 10 guests |
Wadigi charges per additional person beyond two — USD 1,330.62 each for guests three and four, USD 1,282.86 each for five and six — and prices children by age band. Yasawa's figure covers all 18 bures, gourmet meals for up to 38 guests, non-alcoholic beverages and all resort activities, with alcohol and spa extra. Kokomo's product is for up to 12 guests only, which is not the same as buying out all 26 keys.
For the wedding-specific version of this, see private island exclusivity and whole-resort buyouts.
Which one should you choose?
- Genuine solitude for two to eight people: Wadigi, Dolphin Island or Royal Davui. All adults-oriented, all with published evidence of sole occupancy.
- A small group with the whole island: Toberua at 36 adults or Yasawa Island Resort at 38, both with published rates.
- An event of 100 or more on a single island: Vomo, which publishes private island hire for "100 Guests +" and is the only confirmed single-resort island at that scale.
- The best resort rather than the most exclusive island: Likuliku or Six Senses on Malolo. You will share the island, and the product is still outstanding.
- Adults only: Matangi, Matamanoa (16 and over), Tokoriki (16 and over) and Turtle Island for most of the year.
Before you pay for exclusivity
Ask one question in writing: is any other resort, day-trip operation or village located on this island? Nine resorts can answer yes to sole occupancy from their own published material. The rest should be asked directly, and a resort that will not answer plainly has told you something.
Read the archipelago itself in Fiji's islands and regions and Fiji's 333 islands explained, the regional detail in the Mamanucas and the Outer Islands, or browse the listings in the Mamanucas.





